Week 7, Day 4

Yesterday was my first ride on my (NEW TO ME!!!) road bike.

The Stats:

18.91 Miles

1:28:36

12.8 avg mph

850 ft elevation

Being on this bike for the first time was difficult. The seat was not quite where I wanted it to be so I didn’t get the full power in my pedal strokes. I couldn’t figure out how to shift gears right away. I could but going down any hill I just coasted because I couldn’t get a high enough gear to pedal down it. Oh and my fingers hurt soo much! They were frozen the first 5 or so miles.

And then that damn snake at the very end…. I hate snakes with a firey heated passion. And it actually isn’t hate. It’s a phobia that is beyond a phobia. If there was a snake between my child and I… I can’t say that I would run towards my child. I would run the opposite direction and hope a nice bystander would help my child… It’s that bad. So needless to say that stupid bleeptiy bleeping DEAD snake on the side of the road had me in tears the last few miles of the ride.

BUT Overall I enjoyed myself. I am happy Mar and her husband were so helpful to help me get my bike ready. Mar also let me borrow a jacket of hers. I now want one just like it!

Dead snakes, sore arms, frozen fingers, short pedal strokes, wonky gear shifting. I loved (almost) every moment of it!

Leave a Reply

